Brief Description: 

Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), provide opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full time undergraduate or post-graduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Host Institution(s):

Level/Field(s) of study:

  • Undergraduate or Postgraduate Programmes that are related to your country’s priority areas for development which are listed on the participating country profiles.

Number of Scholarships: 

  • Not specified.

Target group:

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

  • The scholarship benefits generally include:
    • full tuition fees,
    • return air travel,
    • establishment allowance,
    • contribution to living expenses (CLE),
    • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC),
    • Introductory Academic Program (IAP),
    • Pre-course English (PCE) fees, etc.
  • The scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.


To be eligible to receive a Scholarship, applicants must:

  • be a minimum of 18 years of age on 1 February of the year of commencing the scholarship;
  • be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;
  • not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  • recipients under the Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) who have completed their secondary school education in Australia in the year prior are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award;
  • be able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken
  • not be applying for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than already achieved (e.g. be applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already hold a PhD); and
  • applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application Instructions:

  • Check the open and close dates for your country
  • Select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas and how to apply.
  • Applications can be done online or by mail (if unable to apply online). The deadline is 1 May 2023 11:59pm AEST.
  • It is important to read the how to apply page and visit the country specific pages, and the official website (link found below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Join our WhatsApp and Telegram groups to stay updated with all opportunities!